Local Emergency Management Committee

This Mandatory Committee is established under Section 38(1) of the Emergency Management Act 2005.

The LEMC has specific functions to follow that are set out in Section 39 and 40 of the Emergency Management Act 2005 (EM Act).   

The purpose of the Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC) is to advise and assist the Local Government in ensuring that the Local Emergency Management arrangements are established for its district; to liaise with public authorities and other persons in the development, review and testing of Local Emergency Management arrangements; and to carry out other emergency management activities as directed by the State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC) or prescribed by the Regulations.

This Committee does not have any delegated authority.  Meetings are held at 5.00pm in the Shire of Toodyay Council Chambers, unless otherwise notified.

The two documents that act as guidelines for holding Committee Meetings are as follows:


Related Information

Agendas and Minutes

Committee Book

Members Representatives 2022 Dates
Cr S Pearce (elected as Presiding Member in accordance with SEMC Guidelines and Section 38 (3) & (4) of the Emergency Management Act 2005. Department of Child Protection and Family Support Wed 9 Feb 2022
Cr M McKeown - Council Member DFES District Manager Wed 11 May 2022
Cr C Duri - Deputy Council Member Main Roads Wed 10 Aug 2022
Police Officer in Charge – Toodyay to act as the Deputy Presiding Member of the Committee in accordance with Section 38 (3) (b) and (4) of the Emergency Management Act 2005 and in accordance with SEMC Guidelines. Toodyay Volunteer Fire & Rescue Wed 9 Nov 2022
Chief Bush Fire Control Officer Silver Chain Service Coordinator
Deputy 1 CBFCO Toodyay St John Ambulance
Deputy 2 CBFCO Morangup St John Ambulance
Community Emergency Services Manager (CESM) - and Responsible Officer for LEMC. Toodyay SES
Chief Executive Officer – Shire of Toodyay, or in accordance with section 5.10(5) of the Local Government Act 1995, the CEO’s Representative Red Cross
Emergency Management Officer Rangers
District Emergency Management Advisor (DEMA) Health/Medical Representative
Local Recovery Coordinator
Deputy Recovery Coordinator
Welfare Liaison Officer
Deputy Welfare Liaison Officer
DFES District Manager
St John Ambulance Community Paramedic
Principal, Toodyay District High School