Shire of Toodyay


Elected Councillors are ratepayers or residents who have volunteered to work for the interests of the community. The Shire's Council comprises nine (9) Councillors who serve for a term of four (4) years.

Councillors are responsible for establishing policies, making decisions on a range of issues and providing leadership and direction to the municipality on behalf of the community.

Elections are held every two years with half of the Councillors retiring at this time. The Shire President is elected by the Councillors and serves for a period of two years.

Council’s Role

The Local Government Act 1995 - Section 2.7 defines the role of Council:

1 The Council

  • a) directs and controls the local government's affairs; and
  • b) is responsible for the performance of the local government's functions

2. Without limiting subsection 1, the council is to

  • a) oversee the allocation of the local government's finances and resources; and
  • b) determine the local government's policies

Acts and Regulations

The Shire of Toodyay operates within State and Federal legislation. Councils have legal powers conferred and duties imposed, not only by the Local Government Act 1995, but also through the following legislation:

Acts and Regulations
Health Act Disability Services Act
Planning and Development Act Road Traffic Act
Bush Fires Act Strata Titles Act
Cemeteries Act Control of Vehicles (Off-Road) Act
Dividing Fences Act Interpretation Act
Factories and Shops Act Land Administration Act
Library Board of Western Australia Act Land Information Authority Act
Main Roads Act Corruption and Crime Commission Act
Environmental Protection Act Freedom of Information Act
Public Works Act State Administrative Tribunal Act

You can access relevant legislation by clicking on the following links:

State Acts and Regulations

Federal Legislation